Контакты/Проезд  Доставка и Оплата Помощь/Возврат
История
  +7 707 857-29-98
  +7(7172) 448953
  10:00-18:00 пн-пт
  shop@logobook.kz
   
    Поиск книг                        
Найти
  Зарубежные издательства Российские издательства  
Авторы | Каталог книг | Издательства | Новинки | Учебная литература | Акции | Бестселлеры | |
 

The Pleasures of Men, Williams, Kate


Варианты приобретения
Цена: 6570T
Кол-во:
Наличие: Есть (2 шт.)
Есть на складе в Москве. Доставка в магазин в Нур-Султан (Астана) 5-10 дней.

Добавить в корзину
в Мои желания

Автор: Williams, Kate
Название:  The Pleasures of Men   (Людские удовольствия)
Издательство: Random House - Penguin
Классификация:
ISBN: 0241951399
ISBN-13(EAN): 9780241951392
ISBN: 0-241-95139-9
ISBN-13(EAN): 978-0-241-95139-2
Размер: RF
Поставляется из: Англии
Описание: Its Spitalfields, 1840. Catherine Sorgeiul lives with her Uncle in a rambling house in Londons East End. She has few companions and little to occupy the days beyond her own colourful imagination.

But then a murderer strikes, ripping open the chests of young girls and stuffing hair into their mouths to resemble a beak, leading the press to christen him The Man of Crows. And as Catherine hungrily devours the news, she finds she can channel the voices of the dead ...and comes to believe she will eventually channel The Man of Crows himself. But the murders continue to panic the city and Catherine gradually realizes she is snared in a deadly trap, where nothing is as it first appears ...and lurking behind the lies Catherine has been told are secrets more deadly and devastating than anything her imagination can conjure.

With an elegant style and thrilling plot, The Pleasures of Men reveals the dark, beating heart of corrupt London during Queen Victorias reign.



Pleasures of Men, The

Автор: Williams, Kate
Название: Pleasures of Men, The
ISBN: 1401324231 ISBN-13(EAN): 9781401324230
Издательство: Hachette Book Group
Цена: 8800 T
Наличие на складе: Есть у поставщика Поставка под заказ.
Описание:

July 1840: The young Queen Victoria has just entered her third year on the throne when a major recession brings London's desperate and destitute into its sweltering streets. While the city crackles with tension, orphaned Catherine Sorgeiul stays locked away in her uncle's home, a peculiar place where death masks adorn the walls and certain rooms are strictly forbidden. Nineteen years old and haunted by a dark past, Catherine becomes obsessed with a series of terrible murders of young girls sweeping the city. Details of the crimes are especially gruesome--the victims' hair has been newly plaited and thrust into their mouths, and their limbs are grotesquely folded behind them, like wounded birds--and the serial killer is soon nicknamed the Man of Crows.

Catherine begins writing stories about the victims--women on their own and vulnerable in the big city--and gradually the story of the murderer as well. But she soon realizes that she has involved herself in a web of betrayal, deceit, and terror that threatens her and all those around her. A remarkable fiction debut, The Pleasures of Men is a gripping and spine-tingling thriller.


The Storms of War

Автор: Williams, Kate
Название: The Storms of War
ISBN: 1409139921 ISBN-13(EAN): 9781409139928
Издательство: Orion Publishers
Цена: 7140 T
Наличие на складе: Поставка под заказ.

Josephine

Автор: Williams Kate
Название: Josephine
ISBN: 009955142X ISBN-13(EAN): 9780099551423
Издательство: Random House - Penguin
Рейтинг:
Цена: 8580 T
Наличие на складе: Есть у поставщика Поставка под заказ.
Описание: Abandoned in Paris by her aristocratic husband, Josephine`s future did not look promising. But while her friends and contemporaries were sent to the guillotine during the Terror that followed the Revolution, she survived prison and emerged as the doyenne of a wildly debauched party scene.

Becoming Queen

Автор: Williams, Kate
Название: Becoming Queen
ISBN: 0099451824 ISBN-13(EAN): 9780099451822
Издательство: Random House - Penguin
Рейтинг:
Цена: 7580 T
Наличие на складе: Есть у поставщика Поставка под заказ.
Описание: Reveals an energetic and vibrant woman, determined to battle for power. This title documents the Byzantine machinations behind Victoria`s quest to occupy the throne, and shows how her struggles did not end when finally the crown was placed on her head. It presents a tale of secrets, sexual repression and endless conflict.

Young Elizabeth

Автор: Williams Kate
Название: Young Elizabeth
ISBN: 1780222432 ISBN-13(EAN): 9781780222431
Издательство: Orion Publishers
Рейтинг:
Цена: 5490 T
Наличие на складе: Поставка под заказ.
Описание: We can hardly imagine a Britain without Elizabeth II on the throne. It seems to be the job she was born for. And yet for much of her early life the young princess did not know the role that her future would hold. She was our accidental Queen. As a young girl, Elizabeth was among the guests in Westminster Abbey watching her father being crowned, making her the only monarch to have attended a parent's coronation. Kate Williams explores the sheltered upbringing of the young princess with a gentle father and domineering mother, her complicated relationship with her sister, Princess Margaret, and her dependence on her nanny, Marion 'Crawfie' Crawford. She details the profound and devastating impact of the abdication crisis when, at the impressionable age of 11, Elizabeth found her position changed overnight: no longer a minor princess she was now heiress to the throne. Elizabeth's determination to share in the struggles of her people marked her out from a young age. Her father initially refused to let her volunteer as a nurse during the Blitz, but relented when she was 18 and allowed her to work as a mechanic and truck driver for the Women's Auxiliary Territorial Service. It was her forward-thinking approach that ensured that her coronation was televised, against the advice of politicians at the time. Kate Williams reveals how the 25-year-old young queen carved out a lasting role for herself amid the changes of the 20th century. Her monarchy would be a very different one to that of her parents and grandparents, and its continuing popularity in the 21st century owes much to the intelligence and elusive personality of this remarkable woman.

Patsy Walker, A.K.A. Hellcat! Vol. 1

Автор: Kate Leth and Brittney Williams
Название: Patsy Walker, A.K.A. Hellcat! Vol. 1
ISBN: 1302900358 ISBN-13(EAN): 9781302900359
Издательство: Hachette Book Group
Рейтинг:
Цена: 7920 T
Наличие на складе: Невозможна поставка.
Описание: Patsy Walker has managed to escape her past, her enemies and Hell itself (literally) - but nothing compares to job hunting in New York City Between trying to make rent and dodging bullets, Patsy barely has time to deal with her mother's exploitative romance comics about Patsy's past resurfacing, much less how they start to interfere with her work and dating life. As she goes from living a double life to a triple, what the hell is Patsy Walker supposed to do? There'll be friendship and burgers, monsters and rent checks and a ghost from the past with questionable motives Comics' most flexible heroine has been a provisional Avenger, a Defender, Satan's daughter-in-law and a dead woman -but she's never been anything like this

COLLECTING: PATSY WALKER, A.K.A. HELLCAT 1-6

The Pleasures of Men

Автор: Kate Williams
Название: The Pleasures of Men
ISBN: 0241954541 ISBN-13(EAN): 9780241954546
Издательство: Random House - Penguin
Рейтинг:
Цена: 4040 T
Наличие на складе: Поставка под заказ.
Описание: Spitalfields, 1840. A murderer nicknamed The Man of Crows. A heroine with a mysterious past and a vivid imagination. Catherine Sorgeiul lives with her Uncle in a rambling house in London`s East End.

Becoming Queen Victoria: The Unexpected Rise of Britain`s Greatest Monarch

Автор: Williams Kate
Название: Becoming Queen Victoria: The Unexpected Rise of Britain`s Greatest Monarch
ISBN: 034547239X ISBN-13(EAN): 9780345472397
Издательство: Random House (USA)
Цена: 7330 T
Наличие на складе: Поставка под заказ.
Описание: NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER - The perfect companion to the PBS Masterpiece series Victoria - A gripping account of Queen Victoria's rise and early years in power from CNN's official royal historian

"Kate Williams has perfected the art of historical biography. Her pacy writing is underpinned by the most impeccable scholarship."--Alison Weir

In 1819, a girl was born to the fourth son of King George III. No one could have expected such an unassuming, overprotected girl to be an effective ruler--yet Queen Victoria would become one of the most powerful monarchs in history.

Writing with novelistic flair and historical precision, Kate Williams reveals a vibrant woman in the prime of her life, while chronicling the byzantine machinations that continued even after the crown was placed on her head. Upon hearing that she had inherited the throne, eighteen-year-old Victoria banished her overambitious mother from the room, a simple yet resolute move that would set the tone for her reign. The queen clashed constantly not only with her mother and her mother's adviser, the Irish adventurer John Conroy, but with her ministers and even her beloved Prince Albert--all of whom attempted to seize control from her.

Williams lays bare the passions that swirled around the throne--the court secrets, the sexual repression, and the endless intrigue. The result is a grand tale of a woman whose destiny began long before she was born and whose legacy lives on.

Praise for Becoming Queen Victoria

"An informative, entertaining, gossipy tale."--Publishers Weekly

"A great read . . . With lively writing, Ms. Williams makes] the story fresh and appealing."--The Washington Times

"Sparkling, engaging."--Open Letters Monthly

Edge of the Fall

Автор: Williams Kate
Название: Edge of the Fall
ISBN: 1409139972 ISBN-13(EAN): 9781409139973
Издательство: Orion Publishers
Рейтинг:
Цена: 5490 T
Наличие на складе: Есть у поставщика Поставка под заказ.
Описание: For fans of DOWNTON ABBEY and ATONEMENT - a compelling historical saga from TV historian and bestselling author of THE STORMS OF WAR, Kate Williams.

Young Elizabeth

Автор: Williams, Kate
Название: Young Elizabeth
ISBN: 0297867814 ISBN-13(EAN): 9780297867814
Издательство: Orion Publishers
Цена: 7140 T
Наличие на складе: Поставка под заказ.

Edge of the Fall

Автор: Williams Kate
Название: Edge of the Fall
ISBN: 1409139913 ISBN-13(EAN): 9781409139911
Издательство: Orion Publishers
Рейтинг:
Цена: 8240 T
Наличие на складе: Поставка под заказ.
Описание: For fans of DOWNTON ABBEY, ATONEMENT and Kate Morton - a compelling historical saga from the bestselling author of THE STORMS OF WAR.

Storms of War

Автор: Williams Kate
Название: Storms of War
ISBN: 1409144887 ISBN-13(EAN): 9781409144885
Издательство: Orion Publishers
Рейтинг:
Цена: 4950 T
Наличие на складе: Невозможна поставка.
Описание: The first novel in Kate Williams` groundbreaking new historical series which begins in the First World War. For fans of BIRDSONG and DOWNTON ABBEY.


Казахстан, 010000 Нур-Султан (Астана) р-он Сарыарка, ул. Московская, д. 40, офис 425
ТОО "Логобук" Тел:+7(7172) 49-21-32, +7(707) 857-29-98 www.logobook.kz
   В Контакте     В Контакте Мед  Мобильная версия